Skip to Content

View Additional Section Content

Categorical Residents

Chief Surgery Residents 2017

Chief Residents

Megumi Asai, MD
University of the Ryukyus Faculty of Medicine

Danelle Bertozzi, MD
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine

Abraham Betancourt, MD
University of Carabobo

Andres Samayoa-Mendez, MD
Universidad Francisco Marroquin

Prabhu Senthil-Kumar, MD
Stanley Medical College

Fourth-Year Residents

Tanya Olszewski, MD
Drexel University College of Medicine

Yizhi Shan, MD
Ohio State University College of Medicine

Nicholas Sich, MD
University of Nevada School of Medicine

Rolla Zarifa, MD
University of Miami School of Medicine

Third-Year Residents

George Filosa, MD
University of Central Florida

Daniel Han, MD
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine

Caitlin Hodge, MD
University of Miami

Linda Li, MD
University of Miami

Jaclyn Milici, DO
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Olivier Van Houtte, MD
Brown University

Second-Year Residents

Waed AlSwealmeen, MD
University of Jordan

Federico Perez Quirante, MD
Universidad de Murcia Facultad de Medicina

Charis Ripley-Hager, MD
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Andrew Rogers, MD
Tufts University School of Medicine

Davek Sharma, MD
Florida International University
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

First-Year Categorical Residents

James Butz, MD
American University of Antigua College of Medicine

Jacob Katsnelson, MD
Ohio State University College of Medicine and Public Health

Emmanuel Nwachuku, MD
Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine at Quinnipiac University

Lili Sadri, MD
Boston University School of Medicine

Thea Strickland, MD
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine

First-Year Preliminary Residents

Nicole Falls, MD
Saba University School of Medicine

Rowaa Ibrihim, MD
Ain Shams University Faculty of Medicine

Abdelsalam Osman, MD
University of Medical Sciences & Technology (UMST) Faculty of Medicine

Kelly Poirier, DO
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Department of Surgery 2017

Graduates 1985-2017

Fellowships: 80%

Advanced Laparoendoscopic Minimally Invasive Surgery
Alta Bates Summit Medical Center
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
East Carolina University, Brody School of Medicine
Legacy Health System
Mayo Clinic (Jacksonville)
Orlando Health (2)
St. Francis Hospital (2)
St. Vincent's Hospital and Health Care Center
University of New Mexico
University of Texas - Southwestern
Yale University Medical Center
Bariatric Fellowship
Abington Memorial Hospital
Breast Fellowship
The Bryn Mawr Hospital (3)
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Grant Medical Center
Cardiothoracic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University
University of Cincinnati
University of Louisville
University of Pennsylvania
Colon and Rectal Surgery
Ferguson Clinic (4)
The Florida Hospital
Grant Medical Center
Lehigh Valley Hospital (3)
Saint Mark's Hospital
UMDNJ/Robert Wood Johnson (2)
University of Texas at Houston
Washington State University
Endocrine Surgery
North Shore University Health System
Hand Surgery
Harper-Grace Hospital/Wayne State University
SUNY Buffalo
Hepatopancreatobiliary (HPB) Surgery
University of Pittsburgh
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
University of Indiana (2)
Penn State University/Hershey Medical Center (2)
Surgical Oncology
Fox Chase Cancer Center (2)
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda (2)
University of Pittsburgh (3)
Trauma/Critical Care
Maryland Institute of Emergency Medical Services
UMDNJ/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (Camden)
University of Arizona, Tucson
University of Miami (3)
University of Pennsylvania (2)
Wake Forest Hospital
Vascular Surgery
Boston University
Provident Medical Center
Temple University Hospital (1)
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital (1)
Toledo Hospital (Jobst Vascular Center) (3)
University of Connecticut / Hartford Hospital

Directly into private practice: 15%
Armed forces commitment: 5%