Skip to Content

View Additional Section Content

Categorical Residents

IM Residency House Staff

The Categorical Internal Medicine Residency at Jefferson Abington Hospital is highly regarded for its outstanding academics and training experiences. Abington's 665-bed hospital is "an academic medical center in a community hospital setting." The Internal Medicine residency is one of six hospital-supported and ACGME-accredited training programs at Abington. Together, the residency program and the hospital pride themselves on the individualized care given to each patient with a focus on safety and quality.

Categorical residents

The categorical residents become educated in the full study of internal medicine, including the study and practice of health promotion, disease prevention, diagnosis, care, and treatment of men and women from adolescence to old age, during health and all stages of illness. They also develop the scientific knowledge and methods of problem solving, skills in evidence-based medical decision-making, a commitment to life-long learning, and an attitude of caring that is derived from humanistic and professional values. The program is particularly focused on patient-centered care, patient-doctor communication, patient safety, and quality of medical care.

Team at a conference

The “X+Y” format of training allows for categorical residents to complete 6 weeks of inpatient rotations without the traditional “half-day” clinic followed by a dedicated 2-week ambulatory service block.  Inpatient rotations consist of General Medicine Service, Critical Care Service, Night Service, and Electives. This alleviates the strenuous nature of the “half day” clinic experience and allows residents to focus on specific, goal-directed learning objectives of each individual rotation. Many residents complete research projects during their ambulatory care service as it provides a work week with less strenuous hours and more weekends off than other services.

Categorical residents

The 36-month training experience qualifies the resident to sit for the American Board of Internal Medicine certification exam. It also provides an excellent foundation for those who choose to pursue a career in primary care, general internal medicine, or subspecialty medicine.

Categorical residentsWith the guidance from the ACGME's six competencies as a method of educating and evaluating residents in internal medicine (Medical Knowledge, Patient Care, Professionalism, Interpersonal & Communication Skills, Practice-Based Learning & Improvement, and Systems-Based Practice), the resident learner will complete the program and emerge a competent, compassionate physician who practices high-quality, patient-centered care.

To Apply

Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS)

Margot I. Boigon, M.D., Program Director

Johnna Stieber, Residency Program Coordinator